Discovering my Online Resources for Web Development!

I started out with the foundational stuff, HTML and CSS as those were the languages that I had some previous experience with. After a few courses it all came rushing back and I was feeling very confident that while I didn’t know everything there was to know, I could definitely find out how to accomplish any task with a little bit of research and checking documentation. At that point I hit a crossroad. I wasn’t sure what language to pick up next. After a little research I felt confident that I wanted to build web applications. I just liked the openness of the web and that you could create a web app and get it out for people to use without having to navigate an app store like the iOS, Mac or Google Play store. I knew that I wasn’t the most naturally visually creative person and I didn’t find a ton of joy in the though of spending my days in Photoshop and Illustrator. I wanted to spend my days living in code. I love problem solving and coming up with creative solutions. That is where my creativity resides. So now what?

I’m a vivacious consumer of YouTube and one of my subscriptions is to Eli the Computer Guy. On repeated occasions he has professed his support for people wanting to get into web app development to pick up PHP as a first language. I decided to do just that and jumped into some PHP tutorials on Lynda. After a few courses however I ended up with a list  filled with PHP and MySQL courses but was very confused on what courses to take in what sequence. During some searching around on the web for the proper order to learn the technologies with I found TeamTreeHouse.com and that was the best thing ever! They filled the void that I had with Lynda.com in the form of tracks. A track was a concise grouping of courses that were presented in a specific order and that lead you an overall end goal. They had a track call “PHP Development” and this was just what I needed. It took me through learning the syntax and use cases of the language to working with data bases using PDO (MySQL), building full web applications, and using JavaScript and jQuery to round out the functionality of the web app.

It took me a few weeks to work my way through that track and I also wanted to know more about the full stack so I took the complete tracks for Web Design and Front End Development. Overall it probably took me about 4 months to go through all of those tracks when working full time and taking care of family. I earned my first badge on treehouse on April 13th 2014 and today is September 24th 2014. It seems like so much longer than partially because I’ve just being going balls-to-the-wall since I started. I found that really love this stuff!! I think about code all the time, I fall asleep thinking about a coding problem, when I see a problem when I’m out running errands I immediately start thinking about how it can be fixed programmatically. Coding is soothing and relaxing for me. I take days off from work to go my favorite hang out spot, Gold Spike, to go and spend the day coding up projects. All of this made me realize that this was truly what I was passionate about. I can never get bored with coding. There’s always something new to learn and discover and implement. You can work your entire life and never be an expert in all areas of web development. This is very appealing to me.

About Blacknight Coding

A remote software developer building fully interactive complex web applications for government agencies using technologies such as Angular 4, RxJs, Redux, NodeJS, etc. Feel free to reach out to me for comments or questions at blacknightcoding@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

